It’s nearly impossible to pass a bakery or coffee shop these days without seeing an assortment of adorable cake pops. They’re always picture-perfect, in an array of colors, and embossed with the prettiest sprinkles and sparkles. Some are so cute they don’t even look edible! Whether they’re solid colored with intricate patterns or sculpted into tiny animals, they stop me in my tracks every time. And now that I’ve attempted to make my own I have a new appreciation for the pastry chefs and bakers who create them. Because these sweet, little indulgences are not easy to make! I thought by switching to a brownie pops recipe (thicker, easier to roll into balls) and letting the dough chill in the refrigerator overnight they’d be much simpler, but boy was I mistaken. They nearly crumbled upon being dipped in the chocolate and the toppings didn’t adhere to the frosting as easily as I had hoped – people put beaks and ears on these things? Luckily I was able to salvage a few for these shots – and I do think they look pretty darn cute. Nevertheless, in the future I’ll be leaving these to the Nigella Lawson’s and Barefoot Contessa’s of the world.

I used Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge Brownie Mix and followed the cake-like directions

