I knew there would be an abundance of traditional dishes at last year’s Christmas dinner so I was determined to cook something new and different. Surprisingly I’ve never been a huge fan of the all American classic macaroni and cheese, but with truffle oil, parmesan cheese, and freshly chopped herbs, it was unrecognizable. I used a recipe that is much-admired at the Gaslamp Strip Club. It sounded like the perfect comfort food, but a far cry from the Kraft mac and cheese that I ate as a kid. Well, as the clean plates clearly suggested you can never go wrong with this timeless dish. Even my ‘meat and potatoes cousins’ who normally don’t think outside of the box when it comes to holiday fare approved of it. And perhaps the biggest fan of all was me. I might just be a mac and cheese convert!   

